Update 2 – 2016 Tesserae

I am making slow but steady progress on the applique for the mosaic-inspired quilt, “Tesserae.”

Tesserae Progress thru 12/6/16

Tesserae Progress thru 12/6/16

I am really honing my applique stitch with this project! I can see a big difference between the first tiles and ones attached today.

Tesserae Detail 1

Tesserae Detail 1

The tiles on the left in this photo were some of the first to be attached; those on the right a few days ago. I’m hoping the difference in technique won’t show when the quilt is complete.

Tesserae Detail 2

Tesserae Detail 2

Here are tiles attached in the last week. I invested in some John James Size 10 applique needles – they just glide through the fabric. However, their tiny gold eyes made me go find my needle threader. I also started using Roxanne’s Glue Baste-It to keep new tiles in place while I applique. Well worth the price for both needles and glue.

Tesserae Detail 3

Tesserae Detail 3

Another detail shot. You may have noticed a few empty spots in the layout. Those are reserved for flat stone and silver embellishments – a few real tiles. They won’t be added until the quilting is complete. Design based on “Eden” (c) Kathy Thaden: http://thadenmosaics.com

 

About Jaye

Modern, original, and art quilt designer-maker. Sewing instructor. Quilt history buff. Former oil painter, writer, musician, fund raiser.

Posted on December 6, 2016, in Applique, Quilts and Fiber Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment