Update – 2016 Tesserae

The working title for my mosaic quilt is Tesserae – the term for small pieces of marble, glass, tiles, pebbles, etc., used in mosaic work. Design based on “Eden” (c) Kathy Thaden: http://thadenmosaics.com
Here are some views of progress so far:

Fabrics Pulled for Tesserae

Fabrics Pulled for Tesserae

Choosing fabrics is always fun and defines the final effect. I usually pull more than I think I’ll need. Somewhere during the process, I may decide against one or change my plan. I can always add unused pieces to my stash, which is where many of these came from.

Tesserae Applique Begins

Tesserae Applique Begins

Here are the first few pieces being attached. This will all be hand applique, with thick interfacing to give each fabric tile some dimension. The stiffness does make it difficult to maneuver as I applique, so the work is slow.

Tesserae Plan on Design Wall

Tesserae Plan on Design Wall

On the left is the color key with unused templates attached. There is a unique template for each of the 350+ tiles. On the right is the black quilt background with the beginning appliques. I’m working from the center out.

About Jaye

Modern, original, and art quilt designer-maker. Sewing instructor. Quilt history buff. Former oil painter, writer, musician, fund raiser.

Posted on November 17, 2016, in Applique, Quilts and Fiber Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment