Plans for a New Quilt

I have been working on an idea for a modern quilt using three-dimensional flying geese.  This was my first idea:

Beginning plan for Fly Away Home

Beginning plan for Fly Away Home

Definitely modern with its alternative grid and negative space. The geese finish to 2″ x 4″ and are flying toward the “nest” which is, of course, not in the center of the quilt.

After sketching this, I decided to enlarge the geese to 2-1/2″ x 5″, so the outside dimensions on these sketches no longer apply. I made a few blocks to try on my design wall, but the negative space just seemed too much, so . . .

Second variation for Fly Away Home

Second variation for Fly Away Home

The exact placement of the extra geese will probably change, and I think I will also scatter some white-on-white geese around for additional texture. I’m also going to try shading the white to turquoise toward the edges of the quilt.

More to come.

About Jaye

Modern, original, and art quilt designer-maker. Sewing instructor. Quilt history buff. Former oil painter, writer, musician, fund raiser.

Posted on December 28, 2015, in Pieced, Quilts and Fiber Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment