Garden of Eden Quilt – ca. 1940s and 1990s

This quilt is a multi-generational effort. The traditional Garden of Eden blocks were left behind by my grandmother Stella Neill Bower and feature mainly 1930s dress fabrics.

Garden of Eden Block

Garden of Eden Block


My father Frank Bower designed a quilt using his mother’s blocks; it was sewn and hand quilted by my mother Joy Tague Bower in the 1990s.
Garden of Eden Full-Sized Quilt

Garden of Eden Full-Sized Quilt


My mother had never been a quilter but took on the task to please her husband.
Garden of Eden Corner Detail

Garden of Eden Corner Detail


The quilt now belongs to my nephew J. Bower.

About Jaye

Modern, original, and art quilt designer-maker. Sewing instructor. Quilt history buff. Former oil painter, writer, musician, fund raiser.

Posted on November 28, 2014, in Family Antiques, Pieced, Quilts and Fiber Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment